Book 6 of 100 – “Heart Collector” by Jacques Vandoux

Get ready for my first harsh review of a book. This book was available free to me as an editors pick through Amazon, so I didn’t expect it to be perfect, but the reviews hyped it up for me and that made it easy for me to be let down.

23387402

I have one word to truly describe this book: disappointment. The murder-mystery concept that this book is based around is really awesome. There is a lot that could have been done with it to make this an exciting novel to read. However, after the first half of the book, I was done. There was a large amount of over-explanation in everything. Even if you love Victorian novels, you will still think there is too much here: the characters just kind of jump in and out while the scenes jump from one type of voice to another.

Don’t get me wrong, I loved the mystery and the supernatural aspect, but once I solved the mystery and the characters still hadn’t, I was bored. To be fair, this is a translated text, originally written in French. Perhaps, it needs to be read in French to be truly appreciated, but I fear I may have wasted more of my time with this one than I wanted to. If they go back in a re-edit this piece and submit a new edition, I would be willing to try again. However, this particular copy is not one that I will be willing to pick up again anytime soon.

If you have some free time and want to look into French culture, writing, or even supernatural myths, this book might be worth it. However, if you are just looking for something to entertain you, stick to Harry Potter.

Stay tuned for the next book! Hopefully coming soon!

Leave a comment