Book 4 of 100 – “All Quiet on the Western Front” by Erich Maria Remarque

All Quiet

I read this book at the request of a very dear friend. I have been given many book suggestions. When someone gives me a suggestion, I usually just add it to my list and do my best to get to it later. However, this friend adamantly reminded me that this is her favorite book (for many months) and eventually she just handed me a copy and told me to read it. So read it I did.

It is not hard to tell why this is a favorite book. “All Quiet on the Western Front” is a beautiful novel written from the perspective of a WW I German soldier. It does not pick sides or tell us who was right in the war, but instead it shows us the horrendous parts of the war.

I cried when I read this book.

The imagery and language that Remarque uses is so perfect in that of a war scene. Everything seems as though it should be proper, the young soldier does his best to live on, but in the end, it is all just mud, clay, glass, bullets, and splinters. If you want a book that will make you think, cry, and read nonstop, then this is the book for you.

Favorite Quote:

“Our hands are earth, our bodies clay, and our eyes pools of rain. We do not know whether we still live.”

Leave a comment